My anticipated movies for 2012 and beyond

A lot of bloggers are posting there lists of anticipated movies now that the new year is over, so i thought i might as well join in. While there are a couple of blockbusters that have my interest(The Dark Knight Rises, Avengers, Skyfall, and the Hobbit are the main ones) i’ve decided to focus on the smaller/lesser known projects i am looking forward to(Most of them because of a actor or actress) and hopefully get someone else excited for them ;)

Rosaline-A period comedy focusing on Rosaline from Romeo & Juliet, the main reason i am looking forward to this is because of DWC favorite Deborah Ann Woll, which should surprise absolutely no one :P. I recently checked out 500 Days of Summer since this is has the same director and writers, and seeing how good that movie was makes me even more excited for this one. Unfortunately this one won’t come out till 2013 :(

Apparently Deborah is no longer the lead actress for this one. Because of that, i no longer care about this one

The Healer-

“The Healer” tells the story of teenage twins Nick and Michelle who embark on a camping trip with their father. A family outing to repair old emotional wounds turns into a perilous adventure as they become lost in a haunted forest from which there seems no escape

The reason this is on my radar is because it has Isabelle Furhman who amazed me in Orphan and Houndog and Joel Courtney who i liked in Super 8(Although Isabelle is the bigger draw for me actor-wise at this point). It also happens to be a supernatural thriller, and most of you already know i love a good supernatural tale. The writer/director of this one is a bit of a gamble, but i really want this one to be good.

House at the end of the street

A mother and daughter move to a new town and find themselves living next door to a house where a young girl murdered her parents. When the daughter befriends the surviving son, she learns the story is far from over.

This one is also on my radar because of the two leads, Max Thieriot and Jennifer Lawrence. Plus the premise sounds like it could be interesting.

Effie-

A look at the mysterious relationship between Victorian art critic John Ruskin and his teenage bride Effie Gray.

This one i am mainly looking forward because Dakota happens to be playing the lead character.

Now is Good-

A girl dying of leukemia compiles a list of things she’d like to do before passing away. Topping the list is her desire to lose her virginity.

This i am also anticipating because of Dakota(It seems 2012 may be her big year)

The Cabin in the Woods- I’m kind of a Whedon, so of course this is on my radar. I am kind of annoyed that Amy Acker doesn’t appear in the trailer at all, and i was kind of anticipating seeing her on the big screen finally. But even with that gripe, the trailer still looks awesome

And lastly Angelina Jolie’s upcoming project with Luc besson, mainly because it is one of her few upcoming projects that is not a biopic. Besson i fee a bit iffy about, as his last movie was colombiana which wasn’t all that good. But He has made some great stuff also, so hopefully he gets his groove back for this one. There isn’t anything known about the plot at this point, but from what i’ve read it is supposed to be in the spirit The Fifth Element and Leon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to My anticipated movies for 2012 and beyond

  1. Ronan says:

    Shocked to learn that Columbiana was a Luc Besson number. I can’t believe the guy that made Leon made Columbiana. I haven’t seen Columbiana but it looked awful in the trailer and I hear the best bits are in the trailer. I like the sound of The Healing and House at the end of the street, I like supernatural thrillers as well. Well, good supernatural thrillers at least. Nice post, thanks for the heads up. btw Dakota Fanning looks so grown up now!

    • I’m not sure i found it awful, but it wasn’t anything special. And glad to see \the healer and House at the end of the street sparks your interest. And yes Dakota certainly looks mature now ;)

      • Ronan says:

        I’m glad I’m able to surprise you Julian. I was disappointed to see The Devil Inside getting such a poor reeaction RT. I saw the trailer and thought it looked pretty creepy. Probably still see it. I do like a good exorcism flick. Let’s just hope this is.

  2. rtm says:

    Glad that you’re highlighting smaller projects on here, Julian. I’m aware of Deborah’s movie because you mentioned it several times :)

    House at the end of the street sounds interesting ’cause of Lawrence, never heard of Max Theirott though, what movie has he been in?

  3. Castor says:

    Interesting list that doesn’t rehash the same movies again and again Julian. I’m not exactly anticipating those but hopefully, they will be intriguing watch!

  4. Tyler says:

    I can’t say I have heard of any of these, but I’ll trust your judgment that they’re worth looking out for.

  5. Max says:

    This is a great list! I hadn’t heard of most of these movies and it does a better job than just rehashing the same blockbusters over and over (like I’m guilty of). Thanks for showing some other feature films.

  6. A nice list sir indeed. I will be using it as a list of films to be open about and check out. I am familiar with only Cabin in the Woods from your list! So the other ones will be ones I will be looking out for. Thanks for bringing them to light! Happy New Year btw!

    -T (previously TheScarletSp1der)

  7. Novroz says:

    Interesting list Julian.
    I have only heard about Effie from Dezzie’s blog.
    So far,my most anticipated of all is still The Hobbit. I have so much love for The Lord of The Rings series

  8. Ronan says:

    Did you go for the Q&A then Julian? Looking forward to reading your post on it if you did!

  9. Sam Fragoso says:

    Cabin in the Woods looks interesting I suppose.

    The Malick film interests me. Gravity – Gatsby – Magic Mike.

    More will come I’m sure.

    • Gravity doesn’t look bad to me, thought i would need to see a trailer before getting excited for it. And although Tobey impressed me in Brothers, because i don’t remember reading the book it is not a must-see for me yet. And except for Munn, there isn’t really anything to make me interested in Magic Mike(and i’m one of the apparently few bloggers who loved Contagion)

  10. Amelie says:

    The Healer is my choice too, I would love to see it.
    And thanks to you I found out about Effie- as a fan of John Ruskin, I put all hopes on this one! Great article when everyone else (including me ;)) is talking about three films in row!

    • Glad to see someone else excited for the Healer. And who is John Ruskin?I am mainly excited for it because of Dakota, so i am not sure of all the history behind it.

      And thanks for the compliment on my post :)

  11. Pingback: 7×7 Link Award | DWC

  12. Chris says:

    House at the end of the street (2012) is news to me, hopefully will be good! Jennifer Lawrence is in everything at the moment. I also learned the other day she is teaming up with Bradley Cooper and director Susanne Bier for Serena (2013)

    • Hopefully it will :) and i did read about Serena…it might be a bit odd to see Lawrence playing Bradleys wife, but i will wait until at least a trailer before deciding whether that can work or not

  13. may says:

    Wow! There were so many lists I found. Here’s the best one http://www.ranker.com/list/50-movie-sequels-being-released-in-2012-and-beyond-/joie. Can anyone help me which one must watch first?

Leave a Reply

