Worst Superman movie

I was planning not to do reviews until after i am done with school this semester, but after seeing All-Star Superman i just had to. Seriously, i found this to be one of the worst movies i have ever seen. At no point was i able to take this movie seriously, even though it is supposed to be about Superman confronting the possibility of death. There was so much plot induced stupidity in this one its ridiculous. For example, in a maximum security prison prisoners are allowed to build themselves robots. Also, a lot of the movie just felt silly to me, even though it is supposed to show what Superman dealing with the possibility of death.

When i checked the imdb page for this it got far more positive reviews than i expected, so maybe i missed something(Its possible that maybe you have to be a fan of the specific comics the movie is based on), but i personally found it worse than Superman Returns.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Worst Superman movie

  1. Custard says:

    I saw this recently and very nearly (and I mean very) got it for the lack of anything new coming out.

    I am blooming glad I didn’t bother. Thanks for enduring it for me πŸ™‚

    C

  2. haha, your comments made me laugh as I considered checking this one out lately too. I may still watch it. You’re right, a lot of people on imdb still give it good reviews!

    I still say the worst one was Superman III. with IV at a close 2nd! Did you see this interesting tidbit on the Superman V project that never happened? : http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=18159

  3. DEZMOND says:

    I’ve never heard of this one, although I remember reading something about Hendricks giving voice in some film. I’m not attracted to superhero animated flicks. So I’m not surprised this one wasn’t that good, as you said.

    • Well, there has been a few superhero animated films i’ve enjoyed like the animated wonder woman movie, but most of dc’s animated movies tend to be average.

    • rtm says:

      I’ve never heard of this even though I love Superman stuff, but I guess I’m more into the live-action version w/ real actors. After reading your review, it’d be wise to avoid this one then πŸ™‚

      • For me, it wasn’t the animation that was the problem. I’m pretty sure i would have found the movie just as stupid in live action. There are a few well done animated superhero films tho. I may do make a post on that in the future

  4. I actually am a fan of several of the animated superhero flicks and how they portray the characters. Some of them get rather dark and show what the characters really are like rather than all cartoony for the kids. Some of my favs include: Batman: Mask of the Phantasm, Batman: Under the Red Hood (amazing!!), Wonder Woman, Superman Doomsday (pretty okay), Justice League New Frontier, and Justice League: Crisis on Two Earths. Those are all pretty decent DCU animated feature films that I like! Oh, and you can’t forget Batman: Return of the Joker (director’s cut)!!!

    • I think i’m seen most of those. I think there are a few good animated dc movies, but i feel most of them(or at least the more recent ones) tend to focus on action rather than character.

      Oh, and the link works for me now

  5. Novroz says:

    I am not a big fan of superheroes since I turned 20…so,I will not watch it even before you said anything. That’s a good ‘watch out’ review πŸ˜‰

  6. Ronan says:

    How did I miss this? I wasn’t even aware their was a new Superman movie out, it mustn’t have been released in the UK yet, haven’t even seen a trailer. So is it worth watching then? I thought the early scenes of Superman Returns with Clarke as a child discovering his abilities and trying to deal with the responsibility that comes with them (stole that from Spiderman). I also loved that bit when the kid nails the goon with grand piano, that was sweet! πŸ™‚

  7. Ipodman says:

    I liked All Star Superman… it’s based directly off a Superman comic series not too far back, and the movie is obviously targeted towards the hardcore comic-reading Superman fans. I think the main problem here is that it feels like lots of tiny episodes put together rather than a full-feature-length story, but that didn’t bother me. I definitely think it’s better than Superman Returns!

    • I guess i’m not a hardcore comic-reading superman film then. The movie just provoked a really bad reaction from me. But you are entitled to your opinion.

      Thanks for commenting even though you obviously disagree with me on this one. I appreciate it

  8. Dan says:

    I think Superman – the first one – is arguably the best superhero film ever made. But speaking of the worst films of the franchise I’d have to go for the truly appalling IV. I actually like number III even though many think it’s rubbish.

Leave a Reply

