Acclaimed filmmakers you’re just not into

One director that seems to get a lot of praise on a lot of movie blogs i follow is Terrance Malick. Unfortunately, for me i just can’t seem to get behind all the praise he gets. I’ve seen two films of his, Days of Heaven and The Thin Red Line. Days of Heaven was definitely a good movie, but i wasn’t amazed by it. The Thin Red Line was worth watching also, but i just found that movie too long.

I realize those are only 2 of his movies, so maybe one of his others will get me on board with the Malick love that everyone seems to have. I’m not saying he’s a bad filmmaker, i just don’t love his movies like everybody else seems to

I ask you readers, are there any widely acclaimed filmmakers that you just don’t get the praise of?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Acclaimed filmmakers you’re just not into

  1. le0pard13 says:

    Ingmar Bergman. There, I said it.

    • That is quite a daring statement sir.

      I’m not actually sure how many Bergman films i’ve seen. I did recently see the Seventh Seal in film class…it was strange.

    • Joel Burman says:

      You are on to something. He is over rated compared to how much crappy films he actually did do. He directed over ten films before breaking through big time.

  2. Custard says:

    I have never really understood the appeal of Woody Allen, so much so that I have never watched any of his films out of protest! (so maybe I am not really right to comment on him)

    er, otherwise, hmmmm

    Taking this the other way, I actually like all the films I have seen from Snyder. Including Watchmen. Just putting it out there.

    C

    • DEZMOND says:

      a huge applause for everything Custie said here 🙂

    • I honestly don’t have anything against Woody Allen, but perhaps maybe you could watch one of his films where he doesn’t star in(Like Purple Rose of Cairo)?

      The reason i say this is because maybe you just don’t like his movie persona.

      I’ve only seen 2 movies from Synder, but i didn’t hate either. And i feel Watchmen ended up wayy underrated.

      • rtm says:

        Yay Custard, I don’t either. The only movie of his I thought was ok is Purple Rose of Cairo, but not a GREAT movie by any means.

  3. Novroz says:

    A lot of people said that Kubrick was really good….I have only seen one Kubrick’s movie, that is The Shining, and hate that movie A LOT. I need to see more of his movies to acclaim that I am not into him…but I can say that I am not into The Shining. For me,the book was awesome and the movie sucked.

    • I personally liked The Shining, but i do think he changed a lot from the books i’ve heard.

      The only Kubrick Film that has left me disappointed is 2001

      • Novroz says:

        I think me and Stephen King are the only ones I know who hate the shining 😉

        • le0pard13 says:

          There’s a lot of SK (and the novel) fans who appreciate Kubrick, but despise the film adaptation.

          • Novroz says:

            glad to hear that. I have read around, most always said that The Shining was one of the best King adaptation. If it wasn’t for Nicholson, I wouldn’t even watch the movie till its end

            • rtm says:

              I don’t think I’ve seen enough of Kubrick’s work to have an opinion on him, but just seeing some of the clips, I don’t think I’ll enjoy his movies.

    • Ronan says:

      I actually like Kubrick style which is one of the most daring of any filmmaker I’ve seen but he doesn’t leave much to the imagination and quite often I have a hard time enjoying his films, which is why he is why I can’t get completely on board with him. Having said that, I do own a book on Kubrick (The Complete Kubrick) and I am intrigued by the man and his method.

      • I personally think quite a few of Kubricks films leave themselves more ambiguous than most films today. And i realize this is kind of unrelated, but i’m just going to say that i think we will have to agree to disagree on the 2 kubrick films we were discussing on your alphabet entry(Eyes Wide Shut and A Clockwork orange). I don’t see us finding any common ground on those

  4. DEZMOND says:

    Amen to what you said about Mallick, Dirty.
    I also don’t understand the success of Nollan, Fincher, Tarantino …. all of their films are irresponsible, immature, unfocused, violent, and highly inappropriate for young people who liked them most.

    • Thanks for the agreement on Malick.

      I’m going to be honest and say i disagree with your criticism of Fincher, Tarantino, and Nolan. But that could be because i don’t feel filmmakers have a moral responsibility.

      • Ronan says:

        At the risk of going down a completely unrelated tangent here Julian, I’m going to have to pull you up on that last statement you made there. “I don’t feel filmmakers have a moral responsibility”. Beofre I give you my reasons for disagreeing with this statement, would you mind expanding on it a bit. Why don’t you think filmmakers have a moral responsibility?

        • I think a film can be entertaining and not be something that one should follow in there own life. I’ve seen plenty of violent films and played violent videogames, and i’ve never gotten into a fight. That is because i now that just because something looks cool in a movie/tv/videogame doesn’t mean i should attempt it in real life. I just feel if a audience member doesn’t understand the difference between fantasy and real life(Even the most realistic feeling movie is still a fantasy imo) than that is the viewers fault and not the filmmakers. I think attaching a moral responsibility to filmmakers puts unnecessary restrictions on what they can’t cover. And as someone who wants to do films, i don’t want to be restricted in what i can and can’t cover.

          I also think a rational person will get the difference between reality and fantasy. Sure, if someone is already starting to lose it then they may try to copy something they see in a movie or tv show, but i don’t think filmmakers should have a moral responsibility because a few people may forget real life is not a movie.

          For example, i saw a movie a while ago called Ma Mere that freaked me out, mainly because of its incestuous overtones. But i wouldn’t try to ban filmmakers from making movies with incestuous overtones in there movie. I will just most likely not watch them and move on. I think the ultimate choice should come from the viewer, not a responsibility placed on the filmmaker.

          I know that you, dezzy, and rtm disagree with me on this, but that is just what i believe

          • Ronan says:

            Fair enough, I was just interested in your opinion on it, always like to hear different views on an issue as important as I believe this to be. I think it is interesting that the moral hygiene of it’s films seems to be of minimal interest to Hollywood as it should surely protect it’s audience from their more base inclinations. I know everyone brings their own opinions, beliefs and interpretations to everything they consmue, in this case movies and I see your point that Hollywood is just exercising their freedom of artistic expression, as well as the audience exercising their free choice to watch it or not. But I just think that as long as the long accepted moral standards of Hollywood are there on a plate for people, I think it makes it more difficult for them to make more responsible decisions about what they watch, which, whether we like it or not, can and often does have a negative (if subtle) effect on the way we live our lives and treat those around us. You only have to look at how Hollywood absorbs and re-gurgitates popular culture to see eveidence of this and, equally, Hollywood informs and to an extent moulds popular culture through the lifestyles and attitudes to living that it portrays and often endorses. There are degrees of positive and negative examples of this consideration but for the most part, it tends to lean a bit closer to gutter more often than not.
            So, if I watch a film that seems to glorify sex, drugs and easy living, no, you and I may not necessarily allow it to influence us or the way we live but that’s not to say some people won’t.
            I expended on this arguement a bit further in a couple of posts a did for Filmplicity a while back titled ‘And the moral of the Story is…’. Why don’t you have a read of that and come back to me with some thoughts and we can talk some more about.
            As a quick aside, I completely respect your views on this and although they differ from my own, I appreciate your frankness in dicussing them. Cheers.

            • I just checked that entry and i left two comments on it.

              And since i can’t seem to reply to your last comment on your alphabet post, i will answer your question here. I think maybe we could try to start a blogathon where everybody is asked to make a blog post answering whether they think filmmakers have a moral responsibility or not.

              • Ronan says:

                That sounds good Julian, let’s do that! Have you run a blogothon before? I’m not really sure how to go about it. What is involved and how does it work?

    • Novroz says:

      I like Nolan, he has unexpected twist. He is my new fav director, right after Spielberg.

      • Ronan says:

        I am rright there with you Novia, although I would swap them around and have Spielberg as my Fav and Kubrick second, with Nolan a close third. That’s how I feel at this moment, but things change.

  5. What a great idea for a post! Nice! I have to put Mel Brooks on this list for me. That’s right! I said it! …..Mel Brooks! haha I just don’t enjoy or get his level of humor and comedy in his films. I like Spaceballs, but Robin Hood: Men in Tights, Blazing Saddles, Young Frankenstein, and more just dont’ do it for me.

    • I found Men in Tights entertaining, but if you didn’t like it thats fine. I actually read in a screenwriitng book i have that the reason critics usually don’t like comedy is because something is either funny or its not. Dramas and movies like that can be debated, but if something isn’t funny to someone nothing you say will change that

      • Ronan says:

        I agree with that completely, humour, especially on the screen, is so subjective and it is difficult to predict how anyone will react, that is why the studios have been playing it safe and go for what their target audience find amusing, namely The Hangover type humour. Not really my bag but I can understand the appeal, although I would really love to see a little more invention among comedy writers in Hollywood, as well as a little more risk taking on the part of the producers who choose to greenlight something that goes against the accepted formula (which seems to be a rare occurence). For example, ever seen a film called Wit with Emma Thompson? It is about this woman with terminal cancer and although the situation is really quite a morbid and depressing one, some of the dialogues in the film are hilarious, which make the sad scenes all the more touching.

  6. Custard says:

    How you getting on with The Killing matey?

  7. Ronan says:

    I never understood all the fuss about the Italian Neo-realists like Fellini Antonioni and Bertolucci but I think that may have more to do with the fact that I was forced to watch them at film school 🙂

  8. Joel Burman says:

    Wow great topic of discussion! I am actually with you on Terrence Mallick but I’d also like to add Wes Anderson to the mix.

    Wes is constantly overdoing it and tries so hard to be so cool all the time. I see him as the younger Cohen brother that didin’t get to play with them when they were kids.

    • Glad to see am not alone on Malick 🙂

      And i’ve seen only two Wes films, Life Aquatic and Fantastic Mr. Fox. I don’t remember Life Aquatic too well, but i really liked Mr. Fox.

  9. rtm says:

    I like Malick but I can see why some people might not like his style. One name that came to mind straight away is Sam Peckinpah whom my friend Ted adore. He recommended The Getaway to me and it left me scratching my head. I thought it was terrible, the acting, the action, etc., but everyone thinks he’s this great action director. Suffice to say I’m not gonna see anything of his again.

    I’m not crazy about the Coens works, either, though it’s kinda blasphemy considering I live in Minnesota! 🙂

    Great idea for a topic Julian, sorry I finally get a chance to read it. Best of luck to your upcoming graduation, are you going to do something special on the blog to commemorate this special occasion?

    • I’m honestly not sure how much of Sam’s work i’ve seen, but The getaway does seem familiar. I don’t have a problem with the Coens, but i do realize that most of there work is rather violent which i know your not a fan of.

      And i wasn’t planning too, mainly because i’m not sure how i could make it at least semi-movie related

      I just saw you liked my post, thanks for that 🙂

      • rtm says:

        Oh, I’m sure you can make just about any topic to be movie-related 🙂 Well, if you decide to post something, I’ll be sure to read it.

      • Ronan says:

        What about a review/analysis of The Graduate? That could be a starting point. You could say which ways you relate to it or how significant or insignificant it is to you in light of your own graduation?

        • I’m going to see if my dad has it on dvd, but for now i’ve decided that i am going to do a list of my favorite coming of age type films. I think that’s graduation related enough to work for a post.

    • Joel Burman says:

      OMG Ruth you are totally missing out! Sam is the first modern action director and it would be a shame if you didn’t see The Wild Bunch at least.

      I love the pool scene in Getaway by the way.

  10. Dan says:

    There are several filmmakers that many people love yet I find I am indifferent to. However, whenever you mention them you’re asking for trouble from their devoted followers. I think one that pops into mind at the moment is Wes Anderson. I really can’t stand The Royal Tenenbaums and haven’t been able to get into his other movies. Perhaps people think of Rushmore and automatically associate the rest of his films with the same high standards.

  11. Pingback: Filmplicity » Blog Archive » “MORALITY BITES” BLOGOTHON: JUNE 29TH 2011

  12. iluvcinema says:

    Late entry but I would like to put my punt in for Brian dePalma. I have liked some of his films but not all of them. I think he is pretty adequate but nothing to fuss too much about.

    When I say that I feel like I am totally missing something (which is very likely).

    • I actually talked to my dad about this, and he said he didn’t like dePalma’s earlier movies because in his opinion he kept doing hitchcok films, but he started to get on the dePalma bandwagon after Scarface

    • Joel Burman says:

      DePalma do seem to divide the film fans a lot. I’m a huge fan of some of his films while I think others are really crappy.

      I recommend The untouchables, Scarface, Blow-out and Body Double in that exact order if you haven’t seen any of his films and gradually want to go down the real DePalma route. They are all great films but in totally different ways.

Leave a Reply

