Coming of Age

To mark my graduation from community college, i’ve decided to do a post on a few of my favorite coming of age films. A fellow blogger suggested that i make a post on my gradation, and after looking for something movie-related to tie in, i decided on coming of age movies, since they kind of relate to graduation.

The Graduate– Even though this movie is set in the 60″s, i still think it has a timeless quality. The anxiety of growing up and becoming a adult is something that i think everybody can relate to whatever the time period(Although i think the current economic troubles makes this movie oddly timely). I also think the humor of the movie still works, as i found myself laughing at various parts. And the acting is top notch

There were two odd things i noticed. One scene has some very quick flash’s that seem to come out of nowhere. I asked my dad whether he saw them just in case it was just my imagination, but he remembered them too. Also there is a shot that seemed to repeat.

But overall, i think this movie deserves the hype it has accumulated.

Animal Kingdom– This is pretty much a coming of age story done in the criminal family genre. The movie makes no attempt to hide how messed up and dysfunctional the family is, nor does it try to excuse there behavior. As the main character seems to get more and more trapped by them, you really want him to get out of there. I particularly liked the ending, which i felt struck the perfect balance of “happy” and realistic.

Nowhere Boy -I ended up liking this a lot more than i thought i would. Even if your not a major Beatles fan i think its hard not to be entertained by Lennon. On the surface he appears to be just another rebellious bad boy, but it slowly gets revealed that he is just lashing out due to his own angst. Aaron Johnson is amazing in the lead role, giving a fantastic performance that kept me engrossed from beginning to end

Let the Right One in and An Education are also in my list but i’ve reviewed them already

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Coming of Age

  1. DEZMOND says:

    congrats on the graduation Dirty! What are you plans for the future?

  2. The trailer for “Nowhere Boy” led me to believe it was just a by-the-numbers tale on Lennon. Not so?

    Also, “The Graduate” is one of my favorites.

  3. Custard says:

    Well done with the Graduation me ol’ mukka!!

    Having a nice Vacation now?

    Animal Kingdom was one of my highlights of recent months, such a striking film!!

    C

    P.S. Trying to find your email….ah I know, I will get it from my blog!! DOh!!

  4. Ronan says:

    Hey Julian, nice post man. Enjoy your vacation (wish I had lots of time off to watch movies šŸ™‚ There has been a lot of acclaim surrounding Animal Kingdom. I was actually invited to see it for a while back but for whatever reason didn’t go. Regret it now. Which of these films do you relate to most?

    • Well i hope you get to see Animal Kingdom at some point. Its on dvd now.

      And i think the one i relate to most would be The Graduate, with An Education being my second choice. The other ones, the situations the characters are in re very different from my own, and so i don’t relate to them as much.

      • Ronan says:

        I just got my lil sis An Education for her birthday, hope she will enjoy it. I haven’t seen it yet so maybe I’ll borrow it and watch it and review it.

  5. Congratulations on your Graduation! To quote from another movie: Spiderman– “Commencement: the end of one thing, the start of something new!” May many new things be in your bright future!…and many more movies!!

  6. rtm says:

    Congratulations Julian!! So sorry for the late comment but I was thinking of you over the weekend as I was at a graduation party. I’m so happy for you, buddy, man I can’t even remember the time I graduated, it’s been a while, he..he…

    This is an excellent idea for a graduation post!! Coming of age stories are certainly compelling and you’ve picked some good ones here. The Graduate is an obvious one, and YES on Nowhere Boy! I became a fan of Aaron because of this movie, and I’m not even a fan of the Beatles nor Lennon. I still have to check out Animal Kingdom, so thanks for the suggestion.

    Well done, Julian and congrats again!

    • Thanks. And yeah, i also became a Aaron fan after it. Not that his performance in Kick-Ass was bad, but it didn’t make a huge impression o me either.

      I actually moved Aaron to a different role in my pitch.

      • rtm says:

        Oh, I like him in Kick-Ass too but I much prefer his more soulful performance in Nowhere Boy. So are you gonna do a post for your cast first before publishing the pitch? That’s what I’ll do. I still have a few roles to fill yet, but I have people in mind. This is the first time I’ve done the pitch before I have the cast in place.

        • I didn’t hate him in Kick-Ass, i just didn’t find it such a amazing role. The same thing happened to Kirsten Dunst for me. She hasn’t really impressed me in anything recently(She wasn’t bad in Spiderman movies, but i wasn’t amazed by her in them either), but when i watched Interview with a Vampire i was shocked at how good she was in it. This is partially why i want to see Melancholia. It seems like Kirsten has a lot more to do than her typical role. I think there are only a few actors around who can make a real impact with a minor role.

          I want to. I just want to do a little more work on my pitch first, as i want to have it done in time. Btw, how do you get the chart thing you have when you post your casts? I would like to do that for mine, but i have no clue how to make one

          And my cast has 3 of your favs btw(4 if you count Guy Pierce) šŸ™‚

          • rtm says:

            Oh I can send you the wordpress code to you if you like for the table, but then you’d have to swap the images with your own cast photos, sized about 200×200 pixels. Do you know how to do that? If so, upload all of them to your gallery so you can link them to your post. It’s a bit hard to explain on the blog, just email me if you have a question šŸ˜€

  7. I am currently sitting in auditorium for my younger sister’s hs graduation and your post came to mind. Congrats again.

    • Thanks. And i am trying to get some mini-reviews done, and i just got to Black Swan…and i’m having the hardest thinking of what to say, even though i loved it. Strange

  8. Dan says:

    I have got to see Nowhere Boy. I love coming of age movies, especially those made in the 70s and 80s. I do, of course, love The Graduate – that’s one of my favourite films. And I got around to seeing An Education a few weeks back and that was great. Have you see Submarine yet?

Leave a Reply

