What horror films do you find overrated?

October is the time for horror for most movie fans. Imo, horror is the second most daring genre to attempt(comedy being the 1st). This is because different things are scary to different people, and what 1 person finds traumatizing may do nothing at all for another. Movies themselves are subjective, but horror perhaps even more so. If something isn’t scary to someone its hard to convince them otherwise, in the same way if a joke in a movie isn’t funny to someone you can’t really convince to change there opinion. So, i decided to ask my fellow readers if there are any highly regarded horror movies you aren’t completely on board with, and if so which ones.

For me, i can’t say i agree with all the praise The Exorcist gets. I don’t think its a bad movie and it did have a few scares, but i didn’t find it to be the nightmarish/traumatic horror classic everybody makes it out to be. I do realize there are some considerations that have to be taken with a older horror film like this, but i’ve seen a couple of older horror movies like The Shining and The Others and while i can see how they were probably scarier back when they were released i still found them effective. But i don’t think i felt that way with the Exorcist.

Again, i realize this is only my opinion, so if you’re one of those people who regard the Exorcist as a classic i am not trying to insult you with this post. For those who did find it to be nightmarish/traumatic, it would be futile of me to try to convince you otherwise. I just wanted to give my honest opinion on this.

This entry was posted in October Horror and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to What horror films do you find overrated?

  1. le0pard13 says:

    “Again, i realize this is only my opinion, so if you’re one of those people who regard the Exorcist as a classic i am not trying to insult you with this post.”

    No offense taken. It is a good question, Julian. Anything considered a classic or an underrated gem in this genre will have their enthusiasts and detractors. It comes with the territory. And you’re quite correct it’s difficult, if not downright impossible, to convince others otherwise. But since this category of film has a tendency to create strong feelings, in polar directions, it’s not surprising. For this ‘The Exoricist’ enthusiast, I’d include:
    • The Devil’s Rejects
    • High Tension (Haute Tension original French title)
    • The Blair Witch Project

    There, I got this off my chest ;-). Thanks, Julian.

  2. Sir Phobos says:

    The one horror movie that I can’t figure out for the life of me why anyone likes it is Don’t Look Now. It’s that piece of shit from the ’70s with Donald Sutherland. BOOOOOOORRRRIIINNNNGGGGGG. It’s supposed to be a classic of the genre. Give me a break.

  3. Stevee says:

    I should pick up The Exorcist again. I watched it a really long time ago while I was doing a boring job at work, and I can’t really remember it all that much.
    A horror that I find really over-rated (and I barely ever watch horrors) is Paranormal Activity. And Paranormal Activity 2 (I reaaaaally did not like that movie). I guess, if I had watched them in theatres, I would have been scared. But even watching them in my lounge on the big TV with all the lights out wasn’t all that scary. Mind you, it’s really hard for me to be scared by movies.

    • I liked both Paranormal Activities to be honest.

      • Jinny says:

        Paranormal Activity was utter shit, so was The Blair witch project. If you’d seen ‘Ghostwatch’ when you were young, you would think differently. It’s a sleep inducing, predictable bore with no redeeming qualities whatsoever. I also thought Scream sucked, because it was a Halloween rip off disguised as a whodunnit. Plus everything that ‘self referential’ film did had already been done, and been done a LOT better in the 80s.

  4. DEZMOND says:

    RING, the US version, definitely. I fell asleep a few times while watching it. It wasn’t scary at all, just boring and bad. With a bad performance by always bland and boring Naomi Watts.

  5. StupidGroundhog says:

    I have a few:
    Hellraiser. I just think it’s crap. The story is boring and the effects suck too. The cenobites are the best thing to come out of that movie, but they played the crap out of them. I try to rewatch this one every so often, but I just can’t get through it.
    The Thing (1982). John Carpenter was good for one thing – Halloween. I deeply dislike all his other movies, especially this one. The special effects are just…so…bad, but people carry on like it’s cinematic royalty.
    The Shining. Sorry, I read the book before I saw this movie and apparently that’s a pretty big no-no. People who love this usually didn’t read it, and those who did like me don’t. Aside from the creepy girls, this movie is unwatchable.

    • I saw the first 2 Hellraiser films and i think they were alright. I plan on rewatching the Thing at some point, but so far this is the only time i’ve heard of someone disliking it.
      And i personally liked The Shining, but i have heard those who read the book usually don’t like the movie

      Thanks for the like btw

    • Sir Phobos says:

      Wow. That’s all I have to say.

    • Sir Phobos says:

      I take back not having anything to say. What horror movies do you like?

      • StupidGroundhog says:

        Lets see…
        As far as “Classics” go, I think Elm Street and the Exorcist stand up against today’s standards. My friend and I have been showing her 8 year old horror movies, and both those scared the poop out her. (other movies like Poltergeist which we thought would scare her and American Werewolf (which is awesome) actually bored her. She doesn’t scare easily) I love Evil Dead. I also like almost all the Halloween movies, old and new.

        New movies, I like the crop that came out about the same time, Descent, the Ruins, Wolf Creek. I enjoy the Saw movies except the last one which was awful. I like Paranormal Activity. I know they’re played out but I got to see the first one when it was in limited release by myself in the theater and it was creepy. I like most of the “found footage” movies like [Rec] and Cloverfield (don’t yell at me).

        I dig vampire movies like the Blade movies, Vamp, and Dusk til Dawn. As long as Robert Pattinson isn’t in it, vampire movies are cool. I like the Dawn of the Dead remake and 28 Days and Months Later but I’m not a big Zombie fan.

        I tend not to love B movies, although I’ve seen tons of them. Most suck. My favorite movies are the Alien franchise movies. While not horror, they’re scarier than most crap out now.

        Sorry for the ramble

    • Novroz says:

      I am giving a big high five to Groundhog. Right after I submitted my comment, I read your comment. Sooooo glad to know another person who thinks the same. The Shining is unwatchable. The moment I finished watching it, I deleted the file from my computer…too ‘scary’ to watch it again coz I might throw a shoe at it. The movie is not even close to the book. Jack is the only saviour of that movie for me. If not for Jack, I have turned it off within less than 30minutes.

    • Billy says:

      I hate The Shining, the book is WAY better

  6. Novroz says:

    I am with you on Exorcist Julian!! I have watched it when I was still in Junior High, in the middle of the night alone…and it didn’t scare me AT ALL. I am always confuse when people said that it was scary.

    However the horror that overated for me is The Shining. I said it million times that I LOVE the book and when I saw the movie, I was so disappointed. NOT SCARY, terrible choice of actress, and they CHANGED the story!! The only thing that make me finish the movie is Jack Nicholson.

    • I’m not going to say the Exorcist didn’t scare me at all, but i definitely did not find it as scary as people say. And we will have to agree to disagree on The Shining, as i personally loved it.

      I didn’t know you were a Jack Nicholson fan btw

    • Dan says:

      It’s funny you should say you didn’t like The Shining but you loved the book. I thought the book was good but the film went above and beyond it. One of those few instances where the film is better than the book.

      • Novroz says:

        Ow Dan…in my 33years of life as both reader and watcher…I haven’t seen any movies better than the book!! and The Shining is most definitely not it. I want to turn it off so bad as it really didn’t match the book. The book has a much better story than the movie.

        @JulianI am not Jack Nicholson fan…but he was sooo good as Jack Torrance. He made it into my top-5 book characters in movies.

        • Dan says:

          That true. I think Kubrick could see that it was too difficult to properly bring King’s story to the screen so had to change it – in both theme and plotting. So the film is very different from the book.

          There is one film/book combo that I will argue has no contest. Jaws. In this case the film is way, way, way better than Benchley’s average novel (with it’s rubbish ending). 🙂

          • Novroz says:

            I don’t like movies that changed the book’s story too much, unless it was for the better. That’s why I am same with King in feeling not happy with Kubrick’s version.

            ah…I didn’t know Jaws is actually from a book, this new news to me. Since I haven’t read it. I can’t agree or contradict you. One movie I admit was great eventhough it was TOTALLY different from the book is Ringu (but it’s still not better than the book, only equally great)

      • Jinny says:

        Sorry, but that is nonsense. The film is crap and the book exceeds it by a million miles. The only reason The Shining gets rated as highly as it does is because of who directed it. In reality all that shitty film is, is The Amityville Horror in a hotel.

  7. Dan says:

    The Others – an “older” horror film? I would say that’s pretty recent having being made in 2001 compared to The Shining (1980) and The Exorcist (1973).

    There’s no comparison between horror films today and those made 20/30/40 years ago. To me, they aren’t half as good. The Exorcist is my favourite horror film and I don’t think there is another film, in any genre, quite like it. In fact, I would go as far as to say The Exorcist is one of the greatest films ever made.

    Horror films that I find overrated would be:
    The Sixth Sense, Evil Dead, and Funny Games.

  8. Dan says:

    I think The Exorcist suffers these days because of its reputation. So many people, like you and I, have watched the film thirty years after it was released to all that media attention. It does affect the way you look at a film and perhaps creates expectations that simply cannot be lived up to.

    • True, although i liked the Shining more and that was made only 7 years after. Perhaps i should try to watch some other highly regarded horror films and how many of them i still find effective now

      • Dan says:

        Definitely try that. It depends what horror films you like. Have you seen Poltergeist (1982) – which is your sort of Paranormal Activity of the 1980s?

        Rosemary’s Baby (1968) is another brilliant horror film but very much a character piece.

        More recently – The Candyman has always managed to scare me and that was made in 1992.

  9. Tyler says:

    I’m fairly simple when it comes to this sort of thing. If it’s a film that’s generally regarded as good, I’ll probably like it (I loved THE EXORCIST). If it’s a film people don’t like, I’ll probably sway towards public opinion (I did not like TROLL 2). I suppose I like more horror movies than I hate. My all time favourite would have to be AUDITION.

  10. Wow! a lot of great comments here! Great subject Julian.

    I find horror to be an interesting genre for another reason…the acting! Along with Comedy, Horror has got to be a complete challenge because they have to act as if something is scaring them. When it comes to the movie, the music helps to convey the fear to the audiences greatly and pick up the slack where the actors may not have succeeded.

    that being said…i’m still not a horror fan. I don’t hate them, I could just take em or leave em.

  11. m. brown says:

    Good discussion. I think that horror is very hard to revisit. If it scared the crap out of you in your childhood, you should probably just leave it there. I know The Exorcist rattled my young mind, and I’m going to keep it that way. But anything that relies on special effects to generate scares (and was made more than 20 years ago) will probably end up laughable now.

    As to the actual discussion, Trick r’ Treat was majorly disappointing for me. I know it’s not a classic, but I bought into the hype (and the cast). I found it boring and often cringe-worthy (and not in a good way).

  12. Ronan says:

    The horror film I find most over rated is The Orphanage because it is so hopeless. The ending is perhaps the most negative ending of any film I have ever had to endure and completely undermines any merit the preceding plot might have had. It is creepy, very creepy but in terms of tone and content fails in my view to rise above its dreary and depressing mood. I know you don’t mind films like this Julian but I don’t like films to leave me with a feeling of hopelessness and this did. Good question 🙂

    • Yeah i remember you weren’t a fan of that one at all.

      • Ronan says:

        No, not at all. Though I do love horror films. I just rarely find one that genuinely frightens me. I guess I just have a high tolerance for scary movies. The last one to give me jitters was Paranormal Activity. Going to see the sequel soon, looking forward to it.

        • I also liked Paranormal Activity. But i’ve also found plenty of other horror movies i thought were good. And going back to your bit about the orphanage being hopeless, most horror movies aren’t really supposed to be hopeful. In fact it is rare that a horror movie has a happy ending i’ve found

          And the last 2 movies i recommended for my October Treats i think are genuinely frightening.

  13. Amy says:

    Well, my aunt – back in the day – stopped going to the theater after The Exorcist hahaha. She has sworn to never watch another horror movie in her life.

    I do think that Blair Witch was kind of overrated, but then again… horror isn’t my genre.

  14. Pingback: 7×7 Link Award | DWC

Leave a Reply

