Anime Spotlight: Monster

Anyone who read saw my cosplay documentary already knows this, but i happen to be a big anime fan. I even joined a Anime Club when i was going to community college(All of the people i interviewed for the documentary were members of that club). I recently watched an 74 episode anime series on netflix called Monster, and it is spectacular, and have decided it was worth making a post about. Before i begin, here is a basic plot summary

In 1986, Tenma, a Japanese neurosurgeon in Germany saved a boy who was shot in the head. He did this against the orders of his patron who had wanted him to operate on a politician then. He had done it out of guilt (for not saving a patient earlier in a similar situation). Thus his career sank. Years later, a series of mysterious murders put rise to Tenma’s career. Tenma starts to investigate these events

Right off the bat, the animation style tells the audience this won’t be like your typical mainstream(in America anyways) anime. It is not interested in looking cute like say Sailor Moon or Naruto. The animation style has a gritty, realistic feel. From the very beginning it is apparent this is an anime aimed at a more mature audience than most of the anime licensed here in the U.S.

The plot is extremely well written imo, with plenty of twists and turns that kept me entertained. The series also does a great job of maintaining tension, and there are several moments where you are left wondering whether a character is going to bite it or not And most of the episodes end on a cliffhanger that leave you wanting more. It also helps that this series is filled with fascinating, unique characters. Even if they aren’t all likable, all are well written. This combination creates many memorable scenes that leave you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next.

This series wades into some dark subject matter, mostly around what defines a “monster.” While there are a very scenes that are actually pleasant overall this series is what i would categorize as relentlessly depressing. In fact there are a few episodes that border on nightmarish. However this makes the more positive scenes that much more memorable.

I highly recommend this one. It is one of the best anime series i’ve watched, and i think shows well the diversity of anime.

This entry was posted in Anime Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Anime Spotlight: Monster

  1. DEZMOND says:

    I’m one of those people who don’t get anime and manga (I don’t like the lack of visual creativity and uniqueness in them) but the story seems interesting.

  2. Castor says:

    Oh! I read this manga. It’s definitely a really good crime story. I didn’t know there was an anime about it. While it sounds like a blast, 74 episodes seems like some really major time commitment lol

  3. Max says:

    Hey, I didn’t know you were an anime/manga fan. I’m hardcore. I just did a video for class about Anime PVC’s. I have the complete manga collection for Monster, so I’ve never seen the show. I know it’s streaming on Netflix though. Glad you enjoyed it. You should check out the manga of Pluto and 20th Century Boys if you liked this though. There’s even a live-action trilogy of 20th Century Boys.

    • I’ve heard about 20th Century Boys, tho i’ve never heard of Pluto before. Do they have anime adaptions?

      • Max says:

        Sadly, Neither of them have anime adaptations. Pluto is a retelling of ‘Astro Boy’ and is a more recent work. I don’t know what you like, but if you you like Monster, I’m sure I could mention a lot more quality shows.

        • I would be very interested in your recommendations.

          • Max says:

            Send me an email and I’m sure to give you more…but off hand

            Baccano!
            Rahxephon
            Durarara!
            Berserk
            Chaos:Head
            Haibane Renmei
            Serial Experiments Lain

            Those are the closest in tone and content (Haibane Renmei not as much, but it’s amazing). Baccano! is the shortest on the list and recommended as a must watch.

            • I actually saw Baccano and Durararra in anime club. I just finished rewatching Baccano with my dad because i didn’t always give it my full attention during club time, and i just started rewatching Durararara with him

  4. rtm says:

    I’ve never been into anime but if I’m in the mood for it, I might check this out.

  5. Novroz says:

    great review Julian!!! I have been trying to find the manga but it’s out of print and nearly impossible to find. I am still waiting for it to be republish.

    Yup it is a manga aimed for grown-ups. Have u ever heard of 20th century boys? it’s by the same mangaka. I have seen the live action version. 1st part was great but 2nd part was a bit too much.

    • I will see if i can find the 20th century boys on netfix. And if you able to find the anime from what i’ve read it is almost exactly the same as the manga

      • Novroz says:

        as I said before, I don’t really into serious anime. Even the anime of one of my most fav manga bored me. I don’t know why, but anime (series not movie) is about fun not seriousness. I’ll wait for the manga.

Leave a Reply

