My Fantasy cast 2

The fantasy draft started again, and i decided to participate. For this one there was a point system added to make it a bit more competitive.

Was your actor selected for a starring role in the next Christopher Nolan mega-blockbuster? Did your director receive a Golden Globe for his latest film? Did one of your actresses get thrown in jail with a DWI? You will score and/or lose points for each of these events and many more.

Some took the point system more or less into account when making there picks, with some picking actors/actress’s solely for points and others disregarding the point system completely. I myself went for a middle ground approach. I had a pitch in mind when picking my people and I am a fan of everyone i picked, but i did keep the point system in mind when choosing my cast. Also, because i again had myself as director i was allowed a extra pick.

The title of my pitch will be The Nature of Evil.I don’t want to give too much away, but it will be about a woman who due to her past is grappling with the definition of evil. As you might expect from the title, this pitch will be on the darker side. The way i imagine it won’t stick to closely to one genre, but it will have elements of drama, thriller, and romance. And now for my cast.

Jennifer Lawrence.For my leading lady, i wanted to pick a actress that i like that is also looking to have a strong showing next year. She gave a strong performance in “Winters Bone” but it was her most recent performance as “Mystique” in First Class that made her fresh in my memory. She has 3 movies coming out next year, but i am mostly betting on the Hunger Games providing me a good chunk of points. Plus with her star power rising she may get even more roles down the line next year.

Tobey Maguire.He amazed me in Brothers and i have been a fan of his ever since. I could think of no one else i wanted to play his role in my pitch. I did think about changing him after drafting Jennifer due to his age, but i think he looks young enough to pull of the love interest role(plus i asked 2 fellow bloggers about it and they both said it could work). As for his prospective point value, he has 2 potentially big movies coming out next year(The Great Gatsby and a Ang lee film) so he should do fine in that regard.

Dakota Fanning.I know i used her last draft, but i happened to have a role perfect for a actress of her age and look. With 5 movies coming next year including Twilight she could turn out to be a real moneymaker for me next year.
>Nicholas Hoult.Like with Dakota, i drafted him because he happens to fit into my pitch and with lead roles in 2 movies coming out next year it looks like his star power is rising.

Angelina Jolie.I know she is not popular among movie bloggers, but i personally think she is a amazing actress. The release dates of her prospective projects aren’t set yet(I found that out after drafting her), but hopefully a few of them will release next year.

Ben Whishaw.I think he gave a great performance in Perfume. His role in Skyfall should get me a good chunk of points, and he will also be in the Wachowskis next film which could steer some extra points my way.

Alexander Skarsgard.I first became a fan of his after seeing him in “True Blood”, and i need an actor who looks old enough to be a father. He has 4 movies coming out next year, and while none of them look like they will be box office hits(With the possible exception of Battleship, as sad as that may be) hopefully combined they will provide with a decent amount of points.

Btw, for those wondering about my new banner. It was brought to my attention on ronans Tree of Life review that i am extremely contreversial. I have decided to wear that as a badge of honor, and so Scott from FRC was kind enough to make me a new banner to represent that

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to My Fantasy cast 2

  1. iluvcinema says:

    Good cast! I really like Hoult, Skarsgard and Dakota (almost did not recognize her in photo)!

    As someone also going through a redesign shortly, I must say I like the new banner!

  2. Tyler says:

    Great cast! I like the sound of this one. Don’t think I’ll participate though. It’s not really my thing.

  3. Ronan says:

    I’m honoured that my little review was able to contribute to your new badge of honour. Wear it with pride Julian. It is one thing to be contrary for the sake of getting a reaction but to be faithful to your convictions is not easy, especially when you are in a minority, so I applaude you for that. Nice banner Scott.

  4. DEZMOND says:

    I love Hoult and Skarsgard, and Lawrence is nice, the rest not so interesting, but your title would put me off from watching the film 🙂 Nothing surprising, yes? 🙂

    • Well i’m happy you like at least some of the cast. And i thought you liked Ben?

      And no i’m not surprised you are put off by the title. I’m kind of curious to see how you will react to the pitch itself. I know you’re not into darker movies, but there have been a few films we both like.

  5. I am interested to see what you do with your cast! Nice compilation Julian!

    and I really like the banner you have chosen! Very nice! Scott does good work!

  6. Castor says:

    Looking forward to your pitch Julian. Interesting cast for sure 😀

  7. rtm says:

    I like your cast, Julian, especially Jennifer Lawrence and Ben Wishaw. I’m not familiar w/ Saarsgard but I know a lot of girls love him. I know you replace Aaron Johnson w/ Nicolas Hoult but I like him too so it’s all good 🙂 Looking forward to your pitch!

    • I knew you would like the Brits in my cast 🙂

      • rtm says:

        Well Jennifer is not a Brit, neither is Jolie, so I like the variety in your cast. I think casting Jolie should make it interesting too, I did like her a lot, just not lately.

        • Well the role i have planned for Jolie isn’t the action seductress she’s become known for. I generally prefer her more dramatic roles, and so her role will be more in that vein.

          And glad you like the variety. I wasn’t actually thinking about that when making the cast.I just wanted to focus on people that have stuff coming out next year that i like. I was actually planning to have Chris Evans in my cast, but he got picked before i got to him and Whishaw seemed like a good replacement 😉

  8. Novroz says:

    Interesting choices Julian 🙂
    I never like Jolie, sorry,but I watch any movie with Fanning and Ben Whishaw anytime. I like those two young actors.

    You’ll be writing thriller too….looking forward to that

    • I’ve found myself to be one of the few Jolie fans around these parts. That said, i will continue to love Jolie no matter what 🙂

      Glad you like Ben and Dakota tho. I think Ben is 35 tho, so i don’t know if he still counts as young 😉

      Glad you’re looking forward to my pitch 🙂

      • Novroz says:

        That’s good Julian…never change you liking because others don’t like it 🙂 at least that’s what I always did, I like and hate certain actors because of me not because of others.

        35 is still young…Cillian is also still at that age 😉

        • Thanks for the encouragement. And for some odd reason almost all the actors i picked are around 35(Ben, Skarsgard, Jolie, and Toby). Not sure how that happened(that is precisely why i almost changed Tobey, but i personally don’t think he looks 35). Come to think of it Cillian looks rather young also. I was kind of shocked to discover Skarsgard to be so close in age to Tobey, as i think Skarsgard looks a lot older.

      • Kacy says:

        Superb inotfmarion here, ol’e chap; keep burning the midnight oil.

  9. Ronan says:

    Happy New Year Julian! Fantastic blogging for 2011, hope 2012 brings you everything you want it to. Thank you for your faithful readership over the last 12 months. I really appreciate it.

  10. Ronan says:

    Sure! Do you want to do it this month?

Leave a Reply

