Reviews

I’ve decided to try to get back to writing reviews, as i haven’t done one(even a short one) for a while.

Rango-I personally loved this movie. Depp was perfect in the lead role, and i found it hilarous.

Girl with the Dragon Tattoo(US version)-My mom ended up giving me and my dad money to see this at a local theater(Tickets are only 3 dollars on tuesdays) because she knows we watched the original swedish movie trilogy. Now, while i don’t think this was bad, it didn’t top the original for me. My main problem was the change in the Lisbeth/Blomkvist dynamic. In the swedish version there dynamic is far more casual, but the script in this one seemed to make it much more romantic, which i wasn’t a fan of. The ending also felt a bit too long in this one.

I did like the dark, stylish directing from Fincher however, and Rooney delivers a standout performance in the role of Lisbeth. The physical transformation she goes through for the role immediately grabs your attention, but she doesn’t simply rely on that. She manages to let the audience know what she is thinking while still keeping Lisbeth a reserved character.

The Disappearance of Alice Creed-Kidnapping thrillers are nothing new, however, this one manages to make it feel fresh. There are very few locations, but that doesn’t diminish the movie at all. It manages to keep the tension at high from beginning to end, with a few plot twists to keep you wondering exactly how it will end.

The Shinjuku incident-Over here, Jackie chan has become associated with comedy and annoying V8 commercials, but here he actually gets to put in a serious dramatic performance. The movie itself doesn’t cover unfamiliar territory, but it manages to keep it fresh with well written characters and plot that keeps you guessing as to how exactly where it will end up going.

Attack the Block– Despite the presence of aliens in this, it is mostly a social commentary. At first the characters don’t come off likable, but as the movie goes on it becomes apparent this is due more to there environment than them being truly bad people. It also never hits you over the head with it, and instead uses a few lines of dialogue to get its message across. I also loved the music in this one, although if you’re not a fan of rap/hip-hop it might not be to your tastes.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reviews

  1. le0pard13 says:

    Agreed on ‘Rango’ (my fave animated feature from 2011) and GwtDT. I need to check out ‘The Disappearance of Alice Mcreed’, ‘The Shinjuku Incident’. I have ‘Attack the Block’ in my queue. Good to see you back, Julian.

  2. DEZMOND says:

    I’ve seen ALICE CREED recently and it was quite and intriguing film, I didn’t even plan to watch it when it started on TV, but I watched scene after scene after scene … it’s one of those films that glue you to the small screen. And plus I love Martin Compston he is always amazing, and the gay thing between him and Eddie Marsan in the film was great as well, and super unexpected 🙂

    • And again you surprise me Dez, as i didn’t think Alice Creed would be to your tastes 😉 I can’t wait to post my pitch, as sometimes you like films i wouldn’t think would be to your tastes

  3. Ronan says:

    I have to see Rango, I keep hearing about how good it is. Thanks for these updates Julian.

  4. rtm says:

    I quite like Rango, the first half is sooo funny, but it gets a bit slow and tedius in the middle. Still I thought Depp was hilarious as the chameleon! Not too interested in the rest however.

  5. Castor says:

    I didn’t think much of Rango. It lacked charms I thought and I was mildly bored throughout. Attack the Block was awesome though and I look forward to Joe Cornish’s future work!

  6. Novroz says:

    I enjoy reading your short reviews even though I haven’t watched any of those movies.

    Rango and Shinjuku are the most possible one I will see in the future…but most likely on TV.

    nice reviews Julian.

Leave a Reply

