Last film you gave up on?

A few weeks ago i decided to watch Otto. The premise of a gay zombie seemed like it had a lot of potential. While i still think that could make for a great movie…this is definitely not it. I ended up quitting about 30 or so minutes in, for two main reasons.

First, there was far too much talking. The combination of voiceover and random interviews was just too much,and ended up really hurting the movie imo. The most memorable scene from what i saw involved no talking. If more of the movie was like that i might have stayed with it. The second problem was that there was too much going on at once. It seemed like it was trying to go for a some strange movie within a movie feel, but it just didn’t work. It felt like the filmmaker was just tossing random shit at the wall hoping something would stick. And what makes it even more aggravating is that the film already has a unique, wacky premise with the whole gay zombie thing. But for whatever reason the filmmaker didn’t feel that was enough.

I think someone like Tim Burton or perhaps David Cronenberg could have made something out of this, but Otto imo totally squandered its potential, and was just all around disappointing.

So, when was the last time you quit on a movie?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Last film you gave up on?

  1. Mark Hobin says:

    Disaster Movie – one of the poorest excuses for a film I have ever witnessed. I defy anyone to watch all brain destroying 87 minutes.

  2. Last and only film I ever gave up on was New York, New York. I don’t know, it’s Scorsese and De Niro, and I still couldn’t make it more than an hour. I didn’t know whether to be angry or heartbroken over such a disappointment from awesome filmmakers. Film just tried my patience with all of its asshole characters and their aggressive assholeries. One day, I will return to New York, New York — because I owe Scorsese that much. Hopefully I’ll be in a more receptive mood.

  3. DEZMOND says:

    gay zombie??? Good gracious me! Kinda like that film with lesbian vampires.
    Some directors never get over their puberty.

  4. Ronan says:

    The last film I gave up on was Land of the Lost starring Will Ferrell. The less said about that the better. Nice question Julian. Don’t think Otto is my cup of tea.

  5. Castor says:

    David Lynch’s Inland Empire. It doesn’t get much harder than that movie ahha

  6. Nostra says:

    Mine was Brick with Joseph Gordon-Levitt, really couldn’t get into it and the story didn’t feel interesting enough, so shut it off…

  7. Last film I gave up on? hmm, I can’t think of one right now. There are movies that I have shut off after losing interest, but none come to mind. Guess they really were that bad that I don’t remember them. haha

  8. Novroz says:

    a gay zombie? how could a zombie has feeling?

    hmmm let me think…I have been watching great movies lately…I think In Time has potential for me to walk out in the middle of the story…if not for that one man.
    The last I stopped watching was not a movie, it was a Japanes crime-drama series….it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be.

    Great post Julian…you made me think

  9. rtm says:

    It’s been a while but it was The Good German, I think I just wasn’t in the mood for it but after about 10 minutes my hubby & I decided maybe next time. We still haven’t picked it up again. I almost turned off Somewhere, I wish I did.

  10. markuswelby1 says:

    Not necessarily a give up, but it did take about three tries for me to get through “Dead Man” with Johnny Depp. I totally gave up on Terrence Malick’s “The New World” I would have given up on “Tree of Life”, but I was forced to go see that with my wife and mother in law.

    • Yeah, i didn’t find Dead Man to really be to my tastes either. And i actually ended up liking most of “Tree of Life.” I found the family dynamic surprising relatable. I could have done without the other aspects tho(like the creation sequence)

  11. Sam Fragoso says:

    I’ve never walked out of a film in theaters.

    And I can’t remember if I’ve ever “given” up on a film. I see everything to its end.

    • I haven’t walked out of a theater either, but i don’t get o go to theaters often. Plus if i see a movie in theaters it is probably one i am heavily anticipating

      And i rarely give up on films, but Otto just disappointed me rather quickly.

  12. 3guys1movie says:

    I wish I had walked out of The Phantom Menace in 3D last weekend.

  13. Andina says:

    Last movie I gave up on was ‘A Walk In The Clouds’. Was trying to search some recommended romance for February, but it was all too cheesy and after 30 minutes I shut it off. This is a good question!

  14. Tyler says:

    I’m with Sam, I never stop movies until the end. Even if they’re bad, I see them through to the final frames. The advantage of this is being able to write a scathing review.

    And the comments about INLAND EMPIRE make me laugh; I’ve seen that movie in its entirety more than ten times! 😀

    • Well i forgot to mention i started Otto rather late, and i wanted to get in 1 good movie that night. I am planning to revisit this one with my dad, mainly because i feel my dad an sometimes find things in movies i don’t

      And yes, i know you’re a major fan of Inland Empire 🙂

  15. Dan says:

    Last night…thirty minutes into The Aviator. I was still waiting for the film to begin.

  16. Chris says:

    A WW2 drama that just didn’t do much for me called Europa Europa (1990). Admittedly I fast-forwarded to see what I was missing. Wasn’t a bad film , I’d just seen variations of the story done so often before.
    Good idea for a post, even though most of the movies in comments I won’t be seeking out, ha ha ( :

Leave a Reply

