Anime Spotlight: Baccano

I’ve decided to make a running feature on this blog focusing on different animes that i feel deserve a special mention. And now this time i will cover Baccano, which bears a striking resemblance to a tarantino film(More on that later). Like with last time, here is a basic plot summary

Each of the stories in the series involves several unrelated plots intersecting and crossing each other as events spiral farther and farther out of control. Immortal alchemists, mafia operated speakeasies, and many other elements of pulp fiction mashed together for a world straight out of the movies.

The animation is very stylized, and fits the shows not too serious tone. The show also uses extensive use of fast forward/flashback, and is full of interesting characters(Sounds like a Tarantino film doesn’t it?). It is more of a ensemble show rather than focused on any 1 character specifically. For me Chane(pictured below) ended up the most intriguing of the bunch.

However, there is some rather graphic violence, partially due to its pulp fiction setting and also due to the immortality of the main characters.

With 16 episodes, if you are looking for a brief, fun anime and don’t mind some graphic violence i highly recommend this one.

This entry was posted in Anime Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Anime Spotlight: Baccano

  1. Chris says:

    An anime with intersecting stories…reminds me of one of my favorite anime movies, which isn’t violent at all, but I love it : 5 centimeters per second (2007) . Here’s my mini-review: http://moviesandsongs365.blogspot.com/2010/12/movie-of-week-5-centimeters-per-second.html

  2. Novroz says:

    I haven’t heard of this anime before. Thank you for sharing it Julian.
    I am going to try finding it. 16 episodes is really short for an anime series

    • I think you would like it. I think you would appreciate the lighthearted tone, and i’m pretty sure the violence won’t bother you too much.

      • Novroz says:

        The violence never bother me. have you seen Blood The Last Vampire? not the life action, the anime…it’s quite gore for an anime. I love it far more than the life action one

  3. Thanks for sharing. I’ve been looking for another series to start watching. I haven’t made up my mind which one to go with yet, but this one doesn’t look bad. Thanks

Leave a Reply

