The Dark Knight Rises

As most of you have probably noticed, i haven’t done much full reviews on this blog, mainly because i find them very difficult to write. But i decided for TDKR i would try to crack one out. Hopefully it isn’t too bad

If movie history is anything to go by, making good trilogy enders that don’t disappoint is one of the most difficult things to do(and the track record with superhero trilogys is even worse). From what i’ve seen, with most superhero franchises they try to make the last film as epic as possibly…with often leads to them feeling overstuffed and convoluted(Looking at you X-Men last Stand)

So with that in mind, i can say i came out of TDKR satisfied. Yes Nolan does make sure to leave the trilogy on a epic note, with what i think are the best action scenes out of the whole trilogy. It also has a large amount of characters, which initially had me worried but imo was handled it well enough that it didn’t feel to disconnected for me.But most importantly, it didn’t feel like character development/characterization was sacrificed for the sake of epicness like i did with X-men 3 and SPiderman 3.

Also, the cast here is great. The returning actors Bale,Freeman, and Caine all do great work. And I was one of those people who doubted Hathaway could pull off Catwoman, but here she does it with ease, expressing both her strength and her vulnerability. JGL and Marion do good with what they have,even though there characters are relatively minor. Hardy is also imposing enough as bane, although he was a bit hard to understand at times.

Below is my opinion on the ending.Highlight if you’ve seen it already

I think the ending is real. One reason is the scene where we find out bruce put in the autopilot, and also because Selina is there. Alfrd wasn’t around for any of there romantic build-up, so there is no reason for him to imagine bruce with her.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Dark Knight Rises

  1. Novroz says:

    Nice full review Julian 🙂
    It seems so far that the ones who are not impressed by TDKR are Indonesian…another blogger and many friends I have in real life. They all have same opinion, too much plot holes and too exagerate. Some parts are just not making sense at all.

  2. sati says:

    Yep, I agree about the ending. Glad you enjoyed the movie, I thought it was just mesmerizing. Anne’s work was the best in the cast but everyone was good and it was Bale’s best performance as Batman to date for me.

    • I don’t know if would call it mesmerizing, but i certainly enjoyed it. Yeah, Annie did a impressive job. I don’t know if i would call its bales best performance as Batman, but it was certainly a good one.

  3. ruth says:

    Glad you enjoyed it, Julian! I too doubted Hathaway as Catwoman but she proved me wrong. Yes, I agree w/ you about the ending, as I’ve replied to you on the comment on my post. I didn’t realize that before but now that I think about it, it confirmed my thought that indeed the hero did not perish 🙂

  4. Chris says:

    Happy to read you had a good time with TDKR! I had a few issues, Bane’s voice, too many characters, and the action not being as jawdropping and original as I expected considering the 1/4 billion dollar budget.
    Overall though, was an exhilarating experience, a great score by Hans Zimmer, fine acting, and I liked there were emotional moments. Maybe a large part of the budget went towards the fee of all those big name actors?! ( :

  5. sanclementejedi says:

    I enjoyed myself at TDKR but I certainly was not walking out of the theater saying “I can’t wait to see that again”. I found this to be the weakest of the 3 Nolan Batman films. I did enjoy Hathaway and the last ten minutes were pretty sweet. It did not make much sense to me to show the two biggest action scenes from the film in the trailers. Well I guess that made as much sense as keeping all the police alive in sewer rather than flooding it with gasoline and lighting a match.

  6. markuswelby1 says:

    Yeah I really enjoyed this one too despite its shortcomings. I just wish Batman was actually in the film for more than what seems like about 10 minutes total of a near 3 hour film. Bane is no Joker…..but then again who is, but Hardy I really liked in a different sort of way. I agree with your ending analysis too.

    • I think Dark Knight was the only entry in the trilogy where Batman appeared a lot. And with Bane i think it was more about his physicality being the primary threat rather than his mind like with the Joker.

  7. *SPOILER ALERT*

    I didn’t even think about the possibility that the ending could not be true. I knew there was no way batman would die but they got me going there for a second there that when points where made that he was alive, I was just so happy I didn’t care to think much more about it.

    TDKR is definitely one of those films that would leave you speechless when the credits roll. I knew it did for me.

  8. Dan says:

    Nice review! I loved it. A great way to end the trilogy I thought.

  9. Really nice review!
    I was pleasantly satisfied with this film.

Leave a Reply

