Small roles/Big performances:Deborah Ann Woll

I was invited by Ruth to take part in the small roles/big performances. The main idea is to highlight a supporting/cameo performance that manages to make a big impression. And it just so happens Deborah Ann Woll had a small part in the Mothers Day remake where i think she excelled in. So when another opportunity to praise my actress crush presented itself i couldn’t resist πŸ™‚

I choose 1 scene, and two smaller bits from another scene to show off Deborahs performance as Lydia. The way she portrays Lydias conflicting loyalty to her psycho family really impressed me. In the first clip(and only real prominent scene in the film) when she is confronted about what she has been accepting as fact her whole life Deborah shows real promise as a actress, slowly revealing the doubts Lydia starts to have. And to do so in a understated way like she does in the clips below shows real talent imo,especially after being used to seeing her in her much flashier role as Jessica in True Blood. To me she made Lydia feel memorable and grounded with a minor amount of screentime, and showed she can play more than just teenage babyvamps.

Making the transition from tv to movies can be a difficult one. But i feel her work in Mothers Day shows she has what it takes to make it in film. In fact, before getting her gig on true Blood she spent 10 years doing theater work(this is listed on her imdb), and that experience definitely shows.

If you can’t view the first clip due to copyright claims then try this link

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Small roles/Big performances:Deborah Ann Woll

  1. Mark Walker says:

    Nice one. I really like this actress.
    May the blogathon begin… πŸ˜‰

  2. le0pard13 says:

    I’d forgotten that this was starting (*head slap*). Well done, Julian.

  3. The first video is apparently blocked on copyright grounds :/

  4. Novroz says:

    Oh…I didn’t know this has become a blogathon.

    I should try doing this too and I know the perfect actor for this πŸ˜‰ and it’s not my Cillian.

    Always fun to see other passionate writer talking about his fav actor/actress. I still havent seen anything by her yet…I hope to see her soon

  5. LOL at the Novia and Robert Pattinson comment. hahha. You guys are funny.

    I’m not sure who I am picking for this yet. Looking forward to participating.

  6. Tyler says:

    She’s an excellent actress. Great work Julian.

  7. markuswelby1 says:

    Small parts, big impressions……my go to film for this is “A History of Violence” William Hurt just owns the last 15 minutes of the film plus you have Ed Harris chewing it up as well for the short time he’s on screen.

  8. Dan says:

    Interesting choice. I haven’t seen the film, I’ll have to check it out.

  9. Alex Withrow says:

    I’ve only ever seen her on True Blood, but she is a unique actress with a lot of talent. I’m curious about this flick now. Good work!

    • Thanks. While i wouldn’t call the flick amazing or anything like that, i think its a decent horror flick.

      And i had no idea you watched True Blood.

      • Alex Withrow says:

        I don’t anymore… show got to be too much. I liked it better when it didn’t have everyone and their mom as some sort of extraterresital being.

        • For me it isn’t so much the amount of supernaturals as it is the amount of plotlines,especially in season 4.I wrote a post about my frustration on the show f your interested

          I thin season 5 was a bit better in that regard, but i still have no idea why terry and Arlene keep getting there own plot lines.

  10. Great post! I’ve only seen this actress in True Blood — she definitely commanded attention there. I’m really curious to see this movie now.

    http://eclecticbooksandmovies.blogspot.com

    • Indeed she did. Despite my recent complains with the show, i will always love it for introducing me to this wonderful actress. And the movie i featured here is violent at certain points, and i don’t know whether that’s a problem for you. Wanted to at least warn you about that in case that is a problem for you

  11. Dan says:

    Interesting choice. I haven’t seen much of this actress. Thanks for the clips.

Leave a Reply

